Words By S.

Saturday, 28 May 2011

Anti-Fashion.

Filed under: Shoes — S @ 7:52 pm

I’m not the most fashionable person.  I know what I like, I have my own style that is somewhere between ultra conservative and zany.   Clothes rarely do much for me – I can put together a decent outfit when I want to, but I err on the side of jeans, more often than not.  I am, however, a sucker for a good pair of shoes.

For a while, I’ve been absolutely obsessed with Oxfords and “old man” sneakers.  While my appetite for Oxfords has yet to be satiated, today I got my very first pair of “old man” sneakers, and I could not be happier.

 

Shall we call this the appetizer portion?

I have fond memories of my grandfather wearing shoes like these at all times (save for when it was obscenely hot, and then he would wear sandals).  I would play in them during visits – put my tiny feet into his gigantic size 13 sneakers, slap on his hat and grab his pipe, and then clomp around his house pretending to be him.  We would laugh and laugh.

Now that I have a pair of my very own, I can fully understand why he wore these endlessly.  Perhaps the next greatest thing is that they’re so cheap!  I intend to purchase many more pairs that I will then paint and dye and decorate.

Here’s to my new loves!

Up next are these lovelies:

1 Comment »

  1. […] Apparently not enough women play computer games. If I had three pounds thirty seven for every time I’ve heard this piece of insightful economic analysis I might have as much accumulated as much as ten pounds eleven pence. I appreciate the industry as a whole is virtually slavering at the prospect that they could make more money if they could work out how to tap into this attractive and pleasantly scented market but I can never shake off the feeling that their attempts to do so are little other than demeaning, pathetic and sexist. I don’t doubt that you can easily market Barbie Horse Adventures to girls younger than 11; but when you’re marketing strategy for older women consists of an analysis that is no more indepth than “Women like playing house with dolls. The Sims 2 is like playing house with dolls. Lets make more Sims games” then you’re not really thinking outside the box. In fact some might say you’re thinking inside a rather sexist and short sighted box. Apart from being mind blowing insulting to everyone’s intelligence you’re not actually expanding your market share. You’ve already captured the market that wants to play The Sims 2. I believe I have discussed this before. […] Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

    Comment by camachogilmore8684 — Friday, 8 April 2016 @ 9:10 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

