Words By S.

Wednesday, 10 January 2007

Perfume.

Filed under: Film,Ramblings — S @ 1:24 pm

Perfume movie poster

For those that are not aware of this film, the story is as follows: A man, born without a scent of his own, has been given the gift of a heightened olfactory sense. He can pick apart objects and can track objects down by their scents. (Think: canines)

He has fallen in love with the scent of women and wishes to be able to preserve and re-create scents, thus he becomes a perfumer. His ultimate goal? To be able to preserve the scent of women.

And so you have, Perfume: The Story of a Murderer.

Sounds interesting enough, yeah? I thought so, too.

I treated myself with a trip to see this film, yesterday, with the best expectations imaginable. The story sounds intriguing, the cast is pretty pleasant enough, can’t go wrong.

Wrong.

Perfume, the novel

The film, based on the novel by Patrick Suskind, has been ridiculed for tackling something that is difficult to translate to film. However, having heard that said about a number of films based on novels – I was more than ready/happy to give it the benefit of the doubt. Having not read the book (mistake number 1), and now knowing what I do (namely the ending), I have no desire to read it.

While the ending is likely increasingly more descriptive in the novel than in the film – it (the film) was descriptive enough for the entire film to have been turned sour, for me. Suffice it to say, the film’s ending cannot have been too far off from the book’s ending.

The ending struck thoughts of, “Wait, what?” “I really hope this is a dream sequence.” and “Um, wtf?” into my head, whilst watching.

Any film that induces the thought, “I hope this is a dream sequence” into anyone is a terrible film, in my opinion. Let alone when it leaves you thinking, “I hope this is a dream sequence” and turns out to not be a dream sequence.

What started out as a film that I would have possibly given a B/B- quickly deteriorated into a D. I’d not recommend seeing it, but should your curiosity be sparked, by all means, do. But, make sure to pay matinee prices.

And don’t say you weren’t warned.

1 Comment »

  1. perfume, at first this name sounded not very interesting but as usual my snap judgments aren’t too good, u probably by now know what this movie is about, but i highly recommend u watch it, and it would even be more exciting if u read the novel first then compare your imagination with the movie.
    It’s breath taking !! believe me .

    Comment by mohammad zanki — Monday, 26 February 2007 @ 7:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

